Bendigo celebrates 100 years of Zonta, 39 years in Bendigo and Women of Achievement

Thirty-nine years ago, the Zonta Club of Bendigo in Australia, District 23, joined the global Zonta family with the sponsorship of the Zonta Club of Melbourne. Heather Winderlich, charter president, laid the foundations for a strong club focused on achieving the ideals of Zonta.

On Friday, 15 November, the club hosted an evening that showcased what it has achieved over the past 39 year and Zonta’s accomplishments in the last century. It also thanked its 23 Women of Achievement.

For the last few years, the club has asked the community to nominate women who demonstrate a commitment to leadership in their community. As a result of her service, the community is a better place to live. This could be a visionary leader, a volunteer or a mentor. Club members continue to be inspired by the outstanding women that are providing so much in bettering the lives of all.

The club also awarded two very special centennial awards: Community Award to Greater City of Bendigo Mayor, Margaret O’Rouke and Champion Award to Sue Brown, charter member.

Past awardees and nominees:

Willi Carney (special Women of Achievement Award recipient in celebration of the club’s 20th year)

Recipients: Karen Riley, Val Campbell and Gayle Maddigan

Recipients: Katherine Legge, Kaye Graves and Margaret Keech

Recipients: Sei Sei Mu Thein, Cathy Steele
Nominees: Jan Boynton, Johanna Spehr, Karen Whillance, Lauren Randle. Louise Scott, Anita Jack, Heather Ridge, Jac Torres-Gomez

Recipients: Julie Oberin and Margaret Singe
Nominees: Judy Stewart, Kathy Tuohey, Jenny Rainsford, Laura Dusseljee

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.